Know what is Shivlinga, it’s types and significance


What is “Shivlinga”?

Being the symbol of zero, sky, eternal, universe, and formless Supreme Person, it is called Linga. It is said in Skanda Purana that the sky itself is the linga. Shivlinga is the axis/axle of the rotating earth and the entire infinite universe because the universe is moving, along with the atmosphere. The meaning of Shivling is eternal, that is, which has no end nor beginning.

Shivling does not mean penis or vagina. This misunderstanding has arisen from the transformation of language and the destruction of our ancient scriptures by confusing people and its interpretation by the British.

Real meaning

In the context of Shivlinga, the meaning of the word linga is sign, sign, quality, behavior, or symbol. Earth is its back or base and everything is born from eternal zero, because of its rhythm in it it is called Linga and has also been addressed by many other names like: Light pillar / Linga, Fire pillar / Linga, Energy pillar / Linga, cosmic pillar/linga.

There are only two things in the universe: Energy and Matter. Our body is made of matter and the soul is energy. Similarly, Shiva becomes the symbol of matter and power energy and is called Shivling. All the solid and energy present in the universe is contained in the Shivling. Shivling is the shape of our universe. The universe is a sign of Shiva Lingam.

Science behind worship of Shivlinga

Shivling has three parts. The first part remains underground around the bottom. In the middle part, a uniform surface is made on all eight sides. Finally, its top oval part is worshipped. These three parts symbolize Brahma (bottom), Vishnu (middle), and Shiva (top). Water is poured on the top, which flows from the meeting below through a channel made.

Shiva has three lines (Tripund) and a point on his forehead, these lines are equally marked on the Shivling. Shivling is the eternal single form of Lord Shiva and Goddess Shakti (Parvati) and also a symbol of equality of man and nature, that is, in this world, not only man and not only nature (woman) have supremacy, but both are equal.

Archaeological evidence of Shivlinga

According to archaeological findings, evidence of worship of Shivlinga has also been found in the ancient cities of Mesopotamia and Babylon. Apart from this, archaeological remains of Shivalinga worship have also been found in the developed culture of Mohan-jo Daro and Harappa.

At the beginning of civilization, people’s life depended on animals and nature, so they used to worship Pashupati as the guardian deity of animals. A seal from the Indus civilization depicts a man with three faces surrounded by many animals. It is considered the Pashupati form of Lord Shiva.

Types of Shivlinga

By the way, there are mainly two types of Shivlinga – first Aakashya or Ulka Shivling and second Parad Shivling. But according to Puranas, there are mainly 6 types of Shivling.

  1. Devling: – The Shivling which is established by the gods or other beings is called Devling. It is traditionally worshiped for the deities originally on earth at present.
  2. Asuralinga:– The Asura Linga which is worshiped by the Asuras. Ravana had installed a Shivalinga, which was the Asura Linga. Like Ravana, who has enmity with the gods, the asuras or demons have been the ultimate devotees of Shiva.
  3. Arshling:– In ancient times this type of Shivling established by sages like Agastya Muni was worshipped.
  4. Puranalinga:– The Shivling established by the persons of mythological times is called Purana Shivling. This linga is worshiped by the Puranas.
  5. Manushyalinga:- The Shivling established by historical great men, rich, kings, and emperors in ancient or medieval times has been called human Shivling.
  6. Swayambhuling:- Lord Shiva himself appears in the form of Shivling for some reason. This type of Shivling is called Swayambhu Shivling. Swayambhu Shivling is in many places in India. Where Shiva himself appeared as a boon.

Devotees make different types of Shivlinga

Devotees worship the symbol of Lord Shiva by making Shivling in different ways according to their devotion. Specially in Sawan month , people make Parthiv Shivlinga for devotion, made by soil.

Lord Rama also built a Shivling at Rameshwaram. It is said that it was of a special type of sand which later took solid form. Apart from the following types of Shivling, Shivling made of rhinestone, gooseberry, camphor, etc. is also worshipped. Each has different importance.

Shivling made from variety of materials

  1. Parad Shivling:– Parad Shivling is often kept at home, office, shop, etc. places. Worshiping this Shivling brings happiness, peace, and good luck in life.
  2. Mishri Shivling:– This Shivling is made of sugar or sugar candy. It is said that by worshiping this one gets relief from pain by destroying diseases.
  3. Shivling made of barley and rice:– It is worshiped for family prosperity. Those couples who are deprived of child happiness get child happiness.
  4. Ashes Shivling:- This Shivling made from the ashes of the yagya gives siddhis. It is often worshiped by the people of the Aghori community.
  5. Jaggery Shivling:– Worshiping this Shivling made of jaggery and grain increases agriculture and food production.
  6. Shivling of fruits and flowers:- Worshiping Shivling made of flowers gets rid of the problems related to land-building. On the other hand, by worshiping the Shivling made of fruits, there would be blessings in the food-water, etc. in the house.
  7. Shivling made of gold and silver:- Shivling made of gold and silver metal brings happiness, prosperity, and wealth.
  8. Shivling of Bibar soil:- By worshiping the Shivling made of Bibar soil, one gets freedom from the fear of poisonous creatures like snakes, scorpions, etc.
  9. Shivling made of curd:- Shivling made by tying curd in a cloth is for happiness, prosperity, and wealth.
  10. Garlic Shivling:– By worshiping Shivling made of garlic, all our wishes of victory over our enemies are fulfilled.

Leave a Comment