Form and incarnation of Goddess Saraswati


In this article, we will talk about the forms and incarnations of Goddess Saraswati. Like Mother Parvati and Mother Lakshmi, Goddess Saraswati also has many forms, although the number of her incarnations is not that much and also many of us don’t know about them.

The main forms of Goddess Saraswati are

Maha Saraswati

She is considered to be the supreme form of Mother Saraswati. Their description has been specifically given in Devi Mahatmya. Along with Mahakali and Mahalakshmi, Mahasaraswati completes the supreme forms of the Trinity, Mahadev, Mahavishnu, and Mahabrahma respectively. In this form, she has 8 hands, holds a veena, and sits on a white lotus.

Vidya Saraswati

In this form, Mother Saraswati represents all the knowledge of the world. It is said that whatever direct or indirect knowledge has spread in the world is because of this form of Mother.


Th is form of Mother Saraswati is the origin of Sringeri Shardapeeth. His temple is at a place called Sringeri in Karnataka which was established by Adi Shankaracharya. It is believed that by worshiping them, one automatically gets the blessings of Goddess Parvati and Goddess Lakshmi along with the Trinity.


Mother Savitri

In this form, Mother Saraswati is revered as the wife of Supreme Father Brahma. This is a symbol of the purity of the world. Whatever is pure and sacred in the world is due to his grace.

Mata Gayatri

This form of Mata Saraswati is worshiped as the presiding deity of all the yagyas and rituals in the world. Although their origin is also considered to be Mother Savitri, at many places she is also considered to be the wife of Brahmadev. Gayatri Mantra is considered to be the most powerful mantra in the world, about which it has been said in the personalities of Shri Krishna himself that “I am Gayatri among the mantras.”

Neel Saraswati

This form of Mother is most famous in the northeastern states of India. This form of her is also considered to be the form of Mata Tara, one of the Mahavidyas. Generally, all the forms of Mother Saraswati are gentle and calm but Neel Saraswati is her fierce form. Their special importance has been mentioned in Tantra texts and 100 of their names are mentioned.


Mother Brahmini mentioned in the Ashta-Matrikas is a form of Mother Saraswati. These demonstrate the power of Supreme Father Brahma. She is yellow and has four arms. Like Brahmadev, his seat is a lotus and the vehicle is a swan.


Out of the ten forms of Mata Sati, which are known as ten Mahavidyas, three are considered to be the forms of Mata Saraswati:

  • Kali (Shyama): Fierce form of Mother.
  • Matangi: Gentle form of mother.
  • Tara: The glorious form of Mother.

Two of her incarnations are very famous:

Saraswati River

This form of Mother has been written prominently in Rigveda. Like Ganga, she also appeared for the welfare of the world. There is also a belief that this was the first river in the world. It appeared in Satyayuga and disappeared at the end of Dwapar. In Kaliyuga, she is present in invisible form along with Mother Ganga and Yamuna. At the end of Kaliyuga, she will leave the earth forever along with Ganga, Yamuna, Kaveri, and Narmada. Many people believe that even today the Saraswati river flows in the womb of the earth.

Maa Sharda

She is considered to be the human incarnation of Mother Saraswati. There is great reverence for him among the Kashmiri Pandits of Kashmir and the natives of Haryana. Their grand temple is established by the name of Sharda Peeth which is about 5000 years old. However, it is unfortunate that now that place is in Pakistan-occupied Kashmir. It is considered one of the 51 Shaktipeeths.

Leave a Comment