Chinese Astrology : Zodiac Signs and chinese Horoscope


The Chinese zodiac, or “sheng jiao”, is a 12-year cycle, with each year representing an animal and its specific characteristics. The 12 animals in the Chinese horoscope are Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, and Pig.

Chinese Astrology : Zodiac Signs and chinese Horoscope

Origin of Chinese astrology

Chinese astrology was elaborated about 5000 years ago during the Zhou dynasty (1046–256 BC) and flourished during the Han dynasty (2nd century BC to 2nd century AD). It has a deep connection with Chinese philosophy. However, it is linked to the doctrine of the three harmonies of heaven, earth, and water.

The most famous legend of the Chinese zodiac, in the order of the Chinese signs of astrology, goes like this: As the story of the Jade Emperor Race tells, the Chinese emperor held a competition to add lucky animals to the calendar. In the first year of the 12 years, the rat won first place, and so on as each animal claims its victory and place.


Most auspicious and inauspicious zodiac signs in Chinese astrology

It is not easy to identify the luckiest and unluckiest zodiac signs as each zodiac sign has its advantages and disadvantages. But, according to Chinese culture, the goat symbol is considered the most inauspicious sign. There is a belief that people born in the years of the Goat are considered followers rather than leaders.

The Dragon zodiac sign is considered to be the luckiest zodiac sign. The top 5 most unpredictable Chinese zodiac signs are Dragon, Snake, Pig, Rat, and Tiger. According to the principles of Chinese astrology, all these aspects can define a person’s past, present, and future. They can be used to develop strong and accurate predictions of a person’s characteristics and every aspect of his or her life.

Chinese Astrology : Zodiac Signs and chinese Horoscope

Here is the list of 12 Zodiacs with Personality trait, Animal, Color and Direction respectively

Rat (shǔ)

  • Smart, creative, and kind
  • Dragon and monkey
  • Aqua blue and green
  • Northeast and South

Bull (niú)

  • Strong and determined
  • Snake and cock
  • Silver and white
  • East and North

Tiger (hǔ)

  • Versatile and resourceful
  • Horse and dog
  • Gray and blue
  • South and North

Rabbit (tú)

  • Calm and responsible
  • Goat and pig
  • Gold and silver
  • Southwest and west

Dragon (lóng)

  • Confident and intelligent
  • Monkey and Rat
  • Ruby Red, Grey, Blue and Green
  • East and South

Snake (she)

  • Intelligent and talented
  • Bull and cock
  • Bright yellow, sky blue, and peach
  • West and East

Horse (mǎ)

  • Energetic and innovative
  • Monkey
  • White, Silver, and Red
  • South and North

Goat (yáng)

  • Calm and gentle
  • Pig
  • Blue and black
  • Northeast and West

Monkey (huu)

  • Curious and intelligent
  • Mice
  • Grey, shiny, blue, and yellow
  • East and west

Cock (jī)

  • Smart and intelligent
  • Ox and Snake
  • Pink, Blue, White, and Silver
  • East and North

Dog (gǒu)

  • Honest and loyal
  • Tiger and dragon
  • Red, yellow, and white
  • South and north

Pig (zhū)

  • Friendly and discreet
  • Goat, Dragon, and Rabbit
  • Pink, yellow, and green
  • South and east

Sometimes, a goat may also be called a sheep, while a pig may also be called a wild boar. These animal symbols are assigned specific years, and so the year of one’s birth essentially determines one’s Chinese zodiac sign. However, in addition to years, other chronological elements including months, days, and hours are also assigned to these 12 animal symbols. In addition to the aspects mentioned above, the central part of Chinese astrology includes the balance theory of yin-yang, Wu Hsing teachings, and the five elements – metal, wood, fire, earth, and air.

Leave a Comment