Who were Brahma’s four Kumars ?


According to the Puranas, there were many Manas sons born from Brahma ji – Marichi from the mind, Atri from the eyes, Angiras from the mouth, Pulastya from the ears, Pulah from the navel, Kritu from the hands, Bhrigu from the skin, Vashishtha from the life, Daksha, from body Swayambhuva Manu, from meditation Chitragupta, from the thumb, Kandarbha, from the lap, Narad, etc and from desire Sanak, Sanandan, Sanatan, Sanatkumar – the four kumars were born.Let us know in brief about the four kumars Sanak, Sanandan, Sanatan, and Sanatkumar.

Brahma born from Vishnu

Brahma originated on a lotus born in water. He tried to know its origin by getting inside the stem of the lotus, but could not know. Then that lotus came again and sitting on the lotus started thinking that about where and how I was born. Then a word was heard ‘Tapas Tapas’. Brahma did penance there for hundred years by closing his eyes. Then Brahma got the order to create the universe with the inspiration of Lord Vishnu.


Four sons and Rudra born from Brahma

He then first gave birth to four sons. Sanak, Sanandan, Sanatan and Sanat Kumar. Brahma ordered them to create the universe. But all these four left the creation and got engrossed in penance. When Brahma got angry with this act of his sons, a child was born from his eyebrows. When this child started crying, he was named Rudra. Then Brahma gave birth to 10 bright sons with the power of Vishnu.

Brahma creating universe

Daughter Vagdevi was born from his mouth. Then Brahma divided his body into two parts and gave birth to the male form Manu from one part and the female form Shatarupa from the other. To save the children of Manu and Shatrupa, Sri Hari took the form of a boar and saved the earth.

Lord Vishnu’s incarnation

According to the religious texts, at the beginning of the creation, the forefather of the world, Brahma, did severe penance with the desire to create many worlds. Pleased with his penance, Lord Vishnu incarnated in the form of four sages named Sanak, Sanandan, Sanatan, and Sanatkumar with the name Sun meaning penance. All four of them were devoted to the path of salvation, engrossed in meditation, ever-perfect, and ever-dispassionate. They are considered the first incarnation of Lord Vishnu. They always remain five years of age and never became young or old. The four brothers live together and keep roaming in the universe.

Devotees of Lord Vishnu

Wherever they went, all four used to meditate on Lord Vishnu’s bhajan-kirtan. They remain always engrossed in the practice of bhajan with a melancholic spirit. The path of Udasin devotion, knowledge, and discretion started from these four Kumars and is known as Udasin Akhara till today.

These four Kumaras, who had been engrossed in the Vedas at the time of doomsday, were retrieved in the Hansavatar of Lord Vishnu. Sanakadi sages had given their first sermon to Naradji.

Famous stories of 4 Kumars

There are many stories and stories in Puranas about the curses and boons given by these four Kumaras. Once Vishnu’s gatekeepers Jai and Vijay stopped her from going inside, due to which they cursed her to be born in a demon vagina for 3 births on earth. Both the brothers were later born as Hiranyaksha and Hiranyakashipu. Then born as Ravana and Kumbhakarna and finally born as Shishupala and Dantavakra, they went to the door of salvation at the hands of Sri Hari.

Leave a Comment