What is Vedic clock ?


In a Vedic clock, one can see Brahma, Ashwinau, Triguna, Chaturvedi, Panchprana, Shadrasa, Saptarshay, Ashtasiddha, Navadravyaani, Dashdisha, Rudra and Aditya are written in the place of 1 to 12 respectively. All of them represent deities or qualities and the number at which they are placed is also the same. Of these, 12 Adityas, 11 Rudras, and 2 Ashwinikumars are counted among the famous 33 crore deities of the Hindu religion. There is also a group of 8 Vasus which is not described in this picture. Let us understand this.

What is Brahma in the Clock ?

In our Puranas, the beginning and end are considered to be from Brahma only. There is only one Brahma which is true and eternal. It has been said – Eko Brahma Dwitiyao Nasti. That is, there is only one Brahma, there is no other.



It represents the Ashwinikumars which are two – Nasatya and Dasara. Nasatya represents sunrise and Dasara represents sunset. He is one of the 33 crore gods. These two brothers were born in Mahabharata as Madriputra Nakul and Sahadev.


These represent the three qualities of every living being – Satoguna, Rajoguna, and Tamoguna. There is a mixture of these three qualities and the predominance of one quality in all living beings. Only Shri Hari Vishnu is considered to be beyond these three qualities, i.e. Trigunatit.


These represent the four Vedas composed by Supreme Father Brahma. These are – Rigveda, Yajurveda, Samaveda, and Atharvaveda.


These represent the five pranas of living beings. The human body is divided into 5 pranas and 5 sub-pranas. There are 5 main pranas – Apana, Samana, Prana, Udana and Vyana. Similarly, there are 5 sub-life – Devdutt, Vrikal, Kurma, Naga and Dhananjay.


These represent the six rasas (Shadrasaḥ = Shad + Rasa). The taste of any Vaastu varies due to these 6 Rasas. These are – Madhur (sweet), Amla (sour), Lavana (salty), Katu (bitter), Tikta (pungent) and Kasaya (astringent).


These represent the seven sages. Although the Saptarishis are different in every Manvantar, but the Saptarishis of the period of the first self-proclaimed Manu, who are the mental sons of Brahmadev, are given priority. These are – Marichi, Atri, Angiras, Pulah, Kratu, Pulastya and Vashishtha.


It represents the eight Siddhis. Mahabali Hanuman had eight Siddhis. It has been said about this – Anima Mahima Chaiva Laghima Garima and. Attainment: Prakamyamishitvam Vashitvam Chaashta Siddhaya. That is, Anima, Mahima, Laghima, Garima, Prapti, Prakamya, Ishitva, and Vashitva – these 8 Siddhis are called “Ashta Siddhi”.


It represents nine funds in Clock. Mahavir Hanuman and Yaksharaj Kuber are the masters of these nine treasures, but while Kuber cannot provide these nine treasures to anyone, Hanuman can provide them to others. Hanuman has nine treasures – Ratna, Kirit, Keyur, Nupur, Chakra, Rath, Mani, Bharya, Gaja and Padma. Kuber’s nine treasures are – Padma, Mahapadma, Neel, Mukund, Nand, Makar, Kachhapa, Shankha, and Kharva.


These represent ten directions. The lord of each direction is called Dikpal. These are – East (Indra), Southern (Agni), South (Yam), Southern (Surya), West (Varun), Northern (Vayu), North (Kuber), North-eastern (Soma), Northern (Brahma) and Southern ( Infinite).

11 Rudras present in the clock

These represent the 11 Rudras in the Clock. All of them are considered to be forms of Lord Shankar and find a place among 33 crore deities. These are – Shambhu, Pinaki, Girish, Sthanu, Bharga, Bhava, Sadashiv, Shiva, Har, Sharva and Kapali.


These represent the 12 Adityas in the Clock. We call these Adityas as gods in common language. He is the son of Maharishi Kashyap and Dakshaputri Aditi and holds a place among the 33 crore gods. These are – Indra, Dhata, Parjanya, Tvashta, Pusha, Aryama, Bhaga, Vivaswan (Surya), Anshuman, Mitra, Varun and Vishnu (Vaman).

Leave a Comment