What is Choghadiya Muhurta and its importance ?


Choghadiya Muhurta has importance in every region of India. This Choghadiya Muhurat is mainly used in buying and selling and doing auspecious things. Choghadiya Muhurta depends on sunrise. Therefore it is different for every city.

How it is counted ?

Any day has two parts day and night. In this too, the time between sunrise and sunset is called the Day’s Choghadiya and the time between sunset and sunrise the next day is called Night’s Choghadiya.

In astrology, the time between sunrise to sunset and sunset to sunrise is divided into 30 Ghatis. For Choghadiya Muhurta, the same 30 Ghati period is again divided into 8 parts. As a result, 8-8 Choghadiya Muhurtas are formed during the day and night.

One Ghati is approximately 24 minutes and one Choghadiya is 4 Ghati i.e. approximately 96 minutes. Each Choghadiya Muhurta is of approximately 4 Ghati, hence the meaning of Choghadiya Muhurta is Choghadiya = Chau (four) + Ghadiya (ghati).

In Choghadiya, 24 hours are divided into 16 parts. There are 8 Muhurtas in the day and 8 Muhurtas in the night. All Muhurats last for one and a half hours. This is called Choghadiya Muhurta. There are 112 Muhurtas including day and night every week. Choghadiya Muhurat is very important before starting any journey or doing any important and auspicious work. If any important work is done in an auspicious time i.e. good Choghadiya, then that work gets better results.


Types of Choghadiya Muhurta

According to mythological Indian time, the day starts at sunrise and ends at sunrise the next day. There are 3.75 Ghatis in all Choghadiya i.e. approximately 4 Ghatis. So if we look at a day, there are 16 Choghadiyas.

Overall there are 7 types of Choghadiya – Shubh, Labh, Amrit, Char, Kaal, Rog, and Udveg.

Among these seven Choghadis, some are very auspicious, some auspicious, some normal, some inauspicious, and some very inauspicious.

All Choghadiya have their significance. Therefore, work can be easily done keeping Choghadiya in mind. Amrit, Shubh, and Labh are quite auspicious. Char is the general Choghadiya Muhurta. Rog, Kaal , and Udveg are inauspicious times. Therefore, very important works should be done only in Amrit, Shubh, and Labh Muhurta.

There are two types of Choghadiya – Day and night Choghadiya

Choghadiya of the day is the time between sunrise and sunset.

There are 8 Choghadiyas in a day. Amrit, Shubh, Labh, and Char are considered auspicious. Amrit is considered the best.

Night Choghadiya is the time between sunset and sunrise.

There are 8 Choghadiyas in one night. Disease, time, and stress are considered inauspicious. One Ghadi is of 24 minutes and Choghadiya is of 1 hour 30 minutes.

Choghadiya Muhurat is different every day. If work is done according to Choghadiya, it is more fruitful.

You must find the correct time of Choghadiya according to your location. Because it changes at different places.

Choghadiya Muhurta’s connection with the planet

Each Choghadiya is associated with Vaar and Graha like

  • Sunday’s Sun is the planet whose Chaughadis will start with Udveg.
  • Monday’s Moon with Amrit,
  • Tuesday’s Mars from Rog,
  • Wednesday’s Mercury with Labh,
  • Thursday’s Jupiter with Shubh,
  • Friday’s Venus with Char
  • Saturday’s Saturn with Kaal

Which Choghadiyas are auspicious and inauspicious ?

To start any auspicious work, Amrit, Shubh, Labh, and Char Choghadiyas are considered best and in the remaining three Choghadiyas, auspicious work should not be done during disease, time, and excitement. The first Muhurta of each day is determined by the ruling planet of that day as mentioned above.

Udveg Choghadiya

In astrology, the influence of the Sun is considered inauspicious because it is a cruel planet, hence it is marked as Udvega. Those whose Sun is good can do government work in this.

Char Choghadiya

Char Choghadiya is the Choghadiya of Venus and Venus is considered an auspicious and beneficial planet. Therefore Char Choghadiya is also marked as auspicious Choghadiya. Due to the variable nature of Venus i.e. the fickle nature of Char Choghadiya is considered most suitable for travelling.

Labh Choghadiya

Mercury is also considered an auspicious and beneficial planet, hence it is called Labh Choghadiya. If the work of education or acquiring any knowledge is started in the Choghadiya of profit, then it is fruitful.

Amrit Choghadiya

Moon is a very auspicious, benign, and beneficial planet. That is why it has been called Amrit Choghadiya. Amrit Choghadiya is considered good for all types of work and is always auspicious.

Kaal Choghadiya

Saturn is considered a sinful planet, that is why the Chaughadiya period of Saturn is called Chaughadiya. No auspicious work should be done during Kaal Choghadiya. For those whose Saturn is auspicious, then this Choghadiya proves beneficial in the activities done for earning money.

Shubh Choghadiya

Jupiter is also considered an auspicious and beneficial planet. Chaughadiya of Jupiter is considered auspicious. Shubh Choghadiya Lagan is best for organizing auspicious ceremonies like engagements, marriages, etc.

Rog Choghadiya

Mars is considered a cruel planet. Choghadiya of Mars has been called Choghadiya of disease. No clothes, household items, or other auspicious work should be done during Rog Choghadiya.

Leave a Comment