The Theory of Karma and Moksha


In The Theory of Karma and Moksha, There are three dimensions of Karma: Praarabdha, Sanchit, and Kriyamaan. These are Karma Sanskaars in subtle form (Sookshma Roop), that get stored in the Chitta in the 4th Bhaav of the birth chart at the end of the present life unless Moksha is availed.

The Theory of Karma and Moksha
The Theory of Karma and Moksha

Types of The Theory of Karma and Moksha


  • Praarabdha is the Karma Sanskaars that are stocked in the 9th Bhaav of the Birth Chart. These are termed Bhaagya or Luck to be enjoyed in the present life.
  • The 10th Bhaav of the 9th Bhaav is the 6th Bhaav in the Birth Chart. Thus, the 6th Bhaav indicates the utilization of the Praarabdha Sanskaars thru Karma.
  • That’s why the 6th Bhaav assumes importance to determine what the native has to enjoy/perform out of One’s luck.
  • Advertisement
  • Besides, services to society, this Bhaav is also known for Roga/Disease, Rina/Debts, and Ripu/Enemies. Selfless service extinguishes unwanted bad Karma Sanskaars of the 9th Bhaav.
  • The opposite Bhaav to the 6th Bhaav is the 12th Bhaav which represents Moksha. Thus, One gets Moksha once Praarabdha Sanskaars are used up or extinguished in toto.


  • These are the accumulated Sanskaars of all previous lives, except the ones which are scheduled to get unfolded in the present life.
  • The 5th Bhaav of the Birth Chart contains these Sookshma Sanskaras. These become active once Praarabdha Karma Sanskaars of 9th Bhaav are fully utilized/extinguished.
  • The 10th Bhaav from the 5th Bhaav is the 2nd Bhaav in the Birth Chart. Thus, 2nd Bhaav indicates the use of Sanskaars contained in the 5th Bhaav.
  • The 2nd Bhaav signifies Vaani which has 4 dimensions, Vaikhari, Madhyama, Pashyanti and Para. Vaikhari is the spoken Vaani. Madhyama is the Naad, Pashyanti, the Visions, and Para, the Supreme.
  • The opposite Bhaav to the 2nd Bhaav is the 8th Bhaav, another Moksha Bhaav. When all Sanskaars of all lives are used up or extinguished, Para Vaani in the form of the supreme power emerges to be enjoyed under Moksha.


  • Kriyamaan is Karmas that are done afresh in the present life without any strings of the past lives attached to them. New Sanskaars are generated by Kriyamaan Karmas.
  • The 10th Bhaav represents the Kriyamaan Karmas. This is the most potent Bhaav in the Birth Chart. The opposite Bhaav here is the 4th Bhaav of the Birth Chart, another Moksha Bhaav.
  • If Kriyamaan Karmas are done for the sake of SwaDharma, without any attachment to the KarmaPhalas, no Sanskaars are generated.
  • If attachment to KarmaPhalas remains, they get stocked as Karma Sanskaars in the 4th Bhaav for utilization in the present life or, carried forward to the next lives.


  • Kriyamaan Karmas are also termed as Freewill Karmas. If One follows the Path of SwaDharma, not only Kriyamaan but Praarabdha and Sanchit Karma Sanskaars also get extinguished.
  • Thus, One may enjoy the present phase of life that unfolds before One and stick to One’s Kartavya Karmas as the SwaDharma.
  • Additionally, One may follow Bhakti-Yoga which ensures the burden of past and present lives Karma Sanskaars getting off the back easily.
  • No Attachment to KarmaPhalas (Karma Fruit) is the surest Path to Moksha !!

Leave a Comment