The five elements of all creation


Do you know what are the five elements of all creation ? According to the ancient scriptures in Bharatiya Sanatan, when the creation of the universe begins, then all the visible substances of the universe start to arise from the unmanifest. In this process, vibrations first took place in the ‘Chaitanya Akash’. The explosion of that pulse generated the unique echo of the word Omkar (Om). (Primordial explosion resulted in a pronounced sound ‘Big-Bang’. This is modern theory. This theory is quite similar to ancient Hindu Philosophy.) That is called ‘Shabd Brahma’.

Table of Contents

What are this 5 elements ?

The sky first appeared from it. Then air was born, then fire was born, then water was born. Then the earth element was born. These were called ‘five elements‘ in our theology. These are also called ‘Panchmahabhoot‘ i.e. the basic substances that make up the universe, then from the earth, vegetation, food from vegetable and living being originated.

In our theology, the lords of these five elements have been called ‘gods’ such as- (1) Aakash Dev, (2) Vayu Dev, (3) Agni Dev, (4) Varun Dev and (5) Bhumi Devi. These five deities physically exist in the form of deities in the assembly of Lord Brahma and on the other hand operate the creation by being pervaded in space.

(1) Aakash Devta

The calculation of sky is the first among the Panchamahabhutas. Indra itself is the King of all elements. The presiding deity of the sky is worshiped in the five Lokpals. At the time of house construction, the sky god is worshiped in the outer part of the house according to Matsya Purana 253 / 24. Where the sky in the form of an idolized deity does the welfare of its worshippers. On the other hand, pervading everywhere, He resides in the life form of the entire universe and the life of all living beings. Therefore, these are the forms of God only. There is neither smell nor juice in the sky. There is neither form nor touch, so it is the image of formless, immutable Brahman. Vedas have expressed this pattern of sky by saying ‘Kham Brahma’.


(2) Vayu Devta

Pawan Devta also his name. In a way, he resides in his ‘Pawan Lok’ and is counted among the ten Lokpalas or Dikpalas as the presiding deities of the north-west corner. Those ten directions are- (1) East, (2) Southeast, (3) South, (4) Southwest, (5) West, (6) North-west (wind), (7) North (8) Northeast, (9) Upper and (10) lower. These ten directions are mentioned respectively in Hindu scriptures. One deity as the presiding deity of each direction, thus the ten presiding deities of the ten directions are called ‘Das Dikpal Deities’.

He is the flowing wind and pervading the outside and inside of all living beings, is operating the creation. Moving in the ten forms of life within the body of the living being, they maintain and nurture the balanced functioning of the body. Those ten air elements are (1) Prana Vayu, (2) Apan Vayu, (3) Vyan Vayu, (4) Udana Vayu, (5) Samana Vayu, (6) Nag, (7) Kurma, (8) Krikar, (9) Devadatta and (10) Dhananjay

The wind god Mahabali has been described as the father of ‘Shri Hanumanji’. We have received Yajurveda only through Vayudev according to Manusmriti 1/23. It is through them that we have got ‘Vayu Purana’.

(3) Agni Devta

Agnidev is also very useful for the life of the living beings. By fire, Heat remains in the body. If this heat does not remain in the body, then the creature dies immediately. Agnidev works in seven ways in the human body. These are called the seven metals. One of these digests food and makes juices. The second produces blood from juice, the third from blood to meat, the fourth from meat to fat, the fifth from fat to bone, the sixth from bone to marrow and the seventh from marrow to sand (semen).

The name Agni itself indicates that these deities constantly put themselves ahead in the work of welfare of the living beings. The world got Rigveda only from Agnidev according to Manusmriti 1/23. He is the speaker of ‘Agni Puraan’. According to Nirukta, medium local electricity and perfect local sun, both these should also be taken by the word ‘Agni’. In this way, Agni Dev divides into three forms earth fire, electric fire and sun and does welfare of the living beings.

(4) Varun Devta

In the Vedas, water has been considered as a great deity. Water has been praised as a deity in four independent hymns of the Rigveda. Water is essential for life. Acharya Yask ji has considered him as a medium local deity. Varun dev is considered as lord of Water. He rides on a crocodile.

(5) Bhumi Devi

The body of the creatures living on this earth is called earthly. Because it is made of ‘Earth element’. Although the body is made not only from the earth. But also from these elements like water, fire, air and sky. But due to the abundance of earth element in it, it is called earthy. The one who produces the body is called ‘mother’, from this point of view the earth is our mother. Rigveda taught at many places that we should consider her as ‘mother’ only.

The reality is that the body of our mother who gave birth is also a gift of the earth goddess. Hence Earth Goddess – Bhu devi is also the mother of mothers. It has been described in Harivansh Purana, that the earth goddess does not get separated from us just by giving birth to the body. But it becomes the basis for living. It is present in the form of a goddess in the assembly of Lord Brahma. In reality it is revolving around the sun in the form of a body and is the sole support of all of us.

Leave a Comment