Lord Shiva Relation with Mahavidyas of Goddess Kali


In the field of Tantra-Mantra and Siddhis, the 10 Mahavidyas of Maa Kali have maximum impact. The whole universe gets energy from these Mahavidyas and the powers of the Gods and Goddesses are also vested in them only. Even Lord Shiva is considered like a dead body without his Shakti, Shiva is nothing without Shakti. Description of ten major forms of Mahadev and Mool Shakti is found in scriptures and Puranas. Rudra, the incarnation of Lord Shiva, is also inspired by these Mahavidyas, who provide happiness-prosperity, enjoyment, and salvation to man and protect a person from ten directions with his power. Let us tell you about the ten Rudravatars of Lord Shiva who are related to these 10 Mahavidyas of the Goddess Mahakali.

Mahakaleshwar Rudravatar

Mahakaleshwar Rudravatar is considered to be the first incarnation among the ten Rudravatars of Lord Shiva. This incarnation is related to Shakti Mahavidya Mahakali. The Mahakaleshwar period is also called Kaal and its form is Shyamvarni. The Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga situated in Ujjain gets powers from Mahakali itself and Maa Kalika subdivision of Ujjain is situated in the form of Shaktipeeth. The original Mahakali temple is the Mahakali temple located in the city of Calcutta, West Bengal.

Tarakeshwar Rudravatar

Tarakeshwar Rudravatar is the second among the ten Rudravatars of Lord Shiva. He is also popular by the name of Tarakeshwar (Tara). This Rudravatar is believed to be related to Goddess Tara.

Tarakeshwar Rudravatar is Pitambar like the star i.e. yellow with sapphire. Tara Peeth is also located in the Mahashamshan near Dwarka river in West Bengal.

Bhubaneshwar Rudravatar

The third incarnation of Mahadev is Bhubaneswar Rudravatar. He is also called Bal Bhuvanesh. This incarnation is believed to be related to Shakti Maa Bhuvaneshwari Devi (Bala Bhuvaneshi). Shaktipeeth of Mata Bhuvaneshwari, one of the ten Mahavidyas, is considered in Uttarakhand. The form of Bhuvaneshwar Rudravatar is like Shilat Shwet. Near this temple situated on the banks of Narad Ganga, Ved Vyasji wrote Shruti and Smriti in the form of Veda Puranas.

Shodeshwar Rudravatar

Shodeshwar Rudravatar is the fourth of the ten Rudravatars of Mahadev. This incarnation is also known as Shodeshwar i.e. Shodash Srividyesh. The power of this incarnation is considered to be Mahavidya Shodashi Srividya. Shodeshwar Rudravatar, complete with sixteen arts, has been considered as salvation. The Shaktipeeth of Bhagwati Shodashi is located on the top of the Matabadi mountain, near Udarpur in the state of Tripura. Here the right leg of Mata Sati had fallen. Its power is Tripura Sundari and Bhairav Tripuresh.

Bhairavnath Rudravatar

The fifth incarnation of Lord Shiva is Bhairavnath Rudravatar, who is also known as Bhairavnath. Mata Bhairavi is considered to be the power of this incarnation. This Adishakti has also been called Tripura Bhairavi and Girija Bhairavi. There are 52 forms mentioned in the Puranas of Bhairavnath and Bhairav has also been called Tamasik Dev, who is considered to be the protector of the directions. Bhairavi’s Shaktipeeth is situated on the Bhairav mountain on the banks of the Shipra river in Ujjain. On the other hand, some scholars consider this Shaktipeeth to be the real Shaktipeeth, the adjacent Bhairav mountain of Girnar, Gujarat. That’s why both the places are recognized as Maa Bhairavi Shaktipeeth.

Damodeshwar Rudravatar

Damodeshwar Rudravatar is the sixth incarnation of Lord Shiva. The Shakti Devi of this incarnation is Chinnamasta, she is also known as Chintpurni. Chinnamastika Temple is a famous Tantric Shaktipeeth in India. The Shaktipeeth of Goddess Chinnamasta is located in the Ramgarh region of Jharkhand. It is said that the ancient temple was destroyed, after which the new temple was built but the ancient idols are still located. It is believed that Damodar is considered to be the power of Shiva and Bhairavi.

Dhumeshwar Rudravatar

Dhumeshwar Rudravatar is the seventh incarnation of Lord Shiva. He is also known by the name Dhumeshwar i.e. Dyumwan. Goddess Dhumavati is considered to be one of the 10 Mahavidyas of Shakti Devi of this incarnation. The form of Dhumeshwar Rudravatar is considered to be like Dhumravarna i.e. smoke. Shaktipeeth of Goddess Dhumavati is located in Pitambar Peeth Praganth of Datia district of Madhya Pradesh. This is the only temple of Mata Dhumavati in the whole of India, whose recognition is very high.

Bagleshwar Rudravatar

Among the ten Rudravatars of Mahadev, Bagleshwar Rudravatar is considered to be the eighth Rudra Avatar. This incarnation is also known by the name Baglamukh. Her appearance is yellow and the power of this incarnation is Goddess Bagalamukhi. Three famous Shaktipeeths of Goddess Shakti are considered. The first is located in Kangra district of Himachal, which is called Baglamukhi Temple. The second one is in Datia district of Madhya Pradesh and the third one is also located in Shajapur district of Madhya Pradesh, which is called Baglamukhi Temple. Of these, the most recognized is that of the Kangra temple.

Matangeshwar Rudravatar

The ninth incarnation of Lord Shiva is Matangeshwar Rudravatar, also known as Matang. Her form is green and the power of this incarnation is considered to be Mahavidya Devi Matangi. This power of Mother Bhagwati is worshiped in the form of Uchchishta Chandalini. The temple of this Shaktipeeth is located in Jhabua city of Madhya Pradesh and she is considered as the family goddess of Brahmins.

Kamleshwar Rudravatar

Kamleshwar Rudravatar is considered to be the tenth Rudra avatar among the ten Rudravatars of Mahadev. This incarnation of Shiva is also known as Kamlesh. Kamleshwar Rudravatar’s Shakti Mahavidya is Devi Kamla. The form of this Rudravatar has 64 celestial degrees and is eight-lobed like a lotus. He is called the lotus form of Shiva.

Leave a Comment