Know about 9 Planet deities – Navgraha


According to astrology, the definition of a planet is different. In Indian astrology and mythology, 9 planets are counted as Nine gods known as ‘Navgraha‘ – Sun – Surya, Moon – Chandrama, Mercury – Budh, Venus – Shukra, Mars – Mangal, Jupiter – Brahaspati, Saturn – Shani, Rahu – North Lunar node and Ketu – South Lunar node.

Sun – Surya dev

Seven horses pull the chariot of Surya. It is the head of all the planets. Solar deity, one of the Adityas, son of Kashyapa and Aditi, one of his wives. His hair and hands are of gold. His chariot is pulled by seven horses and Arun Dev (Uranus planet), which represent the seven chakras. He is the lord of Sunday or Sunday in the form of Ravi. According to Hindu mythology, among the more famous progeny of Surya are Shani (Saturn), Yama (the god of death) and Karna (the one from Mahabharata). Surya is King of all planets.

Moon Chandra dev

It represents the mind. Chandra is also known as Soma and is identified with the Vedic moon god Soma. He is described as young, handsome, fair, two-armed and holds a mugadar and a lotus in his hands. He drives his chariot (the moon) across the sky every night, which is pulled by ten white horses or deer. As Soma, he is the lord of Soma Vaar. He is of sattva quality.


Mercury – Budh dev

He rides a winged lion. Budha is the deity of the planet Mercury and is the son of Chandra (the moon) and Tara (the star). He is also the god of trade and the protector of traders. They are of Rajo Guna and represent dialogue. He is presented as calm, eloquent and green. Budh holds a saber, a mugdar and a shield in his hands and rides a winged lion in the Ramgara temple. He is lord of Wednesday.

Venus – Shukracharya

He is the teacher of demons. Shukra is the son of Bhrigu and Ushan. He is the teacher of the Daityas and the guru of the Asuras who is identified with the planet Venus. He is the lord of Friday. By nature they are majestic and represent wealth, happiness and fertility. He is of white complexion, and middle aged man.

Mars – Mangal

He is God of war. Mangal is the deity of the red planet Mars. Mars is also called Angarak (‘one who is red-coloured’) or Bhaum (son of the earth) in Sanskrit. He is the god of Tuesday and a celibate. His nature is tamasic and he represents energetic action, self-confidence and arrogance.

Jupiter – Guru Brahaspati

Jupiter is the staunch opponent of Shukracharya. Brihaspati, the preceptor of the gods, the embodiment of piety and dharma, the prime mover of prayers and sacrifices, is represented as the priest of the gods. He is of sattva guna and represent knowledge and learning. According to Hindu scriptures, he is the teacher of the gods and the arch-rival of Shukracharya, the teacher of the demons. He is yellow or golden in color and carries a stick, a lotus and his garland.

Saturn – Shani dev

He rides on a black crow. Shani is one of the nine main celestial planets in Hindu astrology. Saturn is the lord of Saturday. It is Tamas in nature and represents the hard way of learning, career and longevity. The word Shani is derived from Shanaye Kramati Sasah, meaning the one who moves slowly. Saturn takes 30 years to orbit the Sun. He is depicted as black, carrying a sword, arrows and two daggers, and often rides on a black crow. He is son of Surya and Chaya.


Rahu represents the head of the demonic snake.It is the presiding deity of the ascendant/north lunar node. It is the head of the demonic snake who, according to Hindu scriptures, it causes eclipses by swallowing the Sun or the Moon. The painting depicts him as a headless snake riding a chariot drawn by eight black horses. He is a Tamas Asura. Rahu Kaal is considered inauspicious.

Rahu Ketu were born during Samudramanthan when Vishnu, as Mohini, cut off Svarbhanu’s head with the Sudarshana Chakra. Svarbhanu, henceforth referred to as Rahuketu, could not die, but his head was separated from his body and his head came to be known as Rahu, while his body came to be known as Ketu.


Ketu is generally known as a shadow planet. He is considered as the tail of the demonic snake. It is believed to have a tremendous impact on human life and also on the entire creation. Under certain circumstances it helps one to reach the pinnacle of fame. He is Tamas in nature and represents transcendental influences.

As per Hinduism, Pluto is considered to be Yama who is the god of death and justice. Whie Neptune is considered as Varun who is god of water. But this both and Arun are not considered as major planets in terms of Pooja.

Leave a Comment